Ffeil / File 2/3 - Opus 10: Canticle for Voice and Piano (facsimile)

Identity area

Reference code



Opus 10: Canticle for Voice and Piano (facsimile)


  • 1956-1961 (Creation)

Level of description

Ffeil / File

Extent and medium

1 large envelope

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Facsimile copy of ink score, dated 1956-1961, titled Opus 10: 'Canticle for Voice and Piano', and incorporating 'Words by Twentieth-Century Anglo-Welsh Poets'. Consisting of Part 1, 'Lean on the Rail' by Randal Jenkins, dated 12 January 1957; Part 2, 'I Will Give you a Golden Flower' by David Harries, dated16 December 1956; Part 3, 'Lie Still, Sleep Becalmed' by Dylan Thomas, dated 24 July 1957; Part 4, 'When I Was a Child' by R. S. Thomas, dated 24 November 1959; Part 5, 'Is There a Cause?' by Vernon Watkins, dated 21 April 1960; Part 6, 'In the Grass Gold Rings' by Roland Mathias, dated 10 May 1957; and Part 7, 'There is No Time' by Raymond Garlick, dated 24 January 1961.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to abide by the conditions set out in information provided when applying for their Readers' Tickets, whereby the reader shall become responsible for compliance with the Data Protection Act 2018 and the General Data Protection Regulation 2018 in relation to any processing by them of personal data obtained from modern records held at the Library

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Generated finding aid

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

See also: NLW, David Harries Music Manuscripts, 2/1 and 2/2.

Related descriptions

Notes area


The file was originally labelled ‘Canticle for Voice and Piano Op 10’ .


The file was originally in the same folder as 2/7.

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places

Physical storage

  • Text: David Harries Music Manuscripts 2/3