File A1/1/38. - General correspondence,

Identity area

Reference code



General correspondence,


  • 1907. (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

4 folders ; 15 cm.

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Includes letters from R. A. Stewart Macalister (2), J. Glyn Davies (4), D. Lloyd George (3), Robert Mowat (4, one includes a note by Whitley Stokes on reverse), Evan Rees ('Dyfed'), Patrick Power, Marie Henri d’Arbois de Jubainville (2), Lewis Morris (3), T. Herbert Warren (4), F. J. Furnivall, Edward Laws (2), Horace Hart (13), Edward Caird (2), A. H. Sayce, Julio de Urquijo (4), Alfred Daniell, Sidney Lee (2), J. Romilly Allen (5), W. James (2), John Rowland, Thomas Shankland, S. H. Church, A. O. Vaughan ('Owen Rhoscomyl') (7), Richard Ellis, George Eyre Evans (3), John Edward Lloyd (3), William Jones, Rudolf Thurneysen, J. Strachan, Hugh Williams, J. G. Schurman (3), Goddard H. Orpen (2), Edward Owen (10), E. W. B. Nicholson (3), John C. Roberts, Isaac Craigfryn Hughes (2), George Curzon (2), E. S. Dodgson (40), W. H. Preece, J. H. Hessels, H. H. Asquith (2), D. Brynmor Jones, John Bradbury, W. G. Smith, Henry Owen (3), John Thomas ('Eifionydd') (2), Thomas Powel (2), J. Gwenogvryn Evans (3), Norman Lockyer, Thurstan C. Peter (2), J. G. Swift MacNeill, H. Campbell-Bannerman, S. Baring-Gould, Robert P. Porter, S. L. Clemens, Bernard FitzPatrick (Baron Castletown), A. S. Green, Marie Corelli, Erskine Beveridge (3), Henry Jones (2), W. Hawker Hughes, J. C. Collins, Robert S. Ball, J. Loth (2), J. Jusserand (3), Arturo Campión, Camille Jullian, William Iago, Gustav Roethe (2), Osborn J. Bergin, Heinrich Zimmer, Robinson Ellis, Charles Plummer, Edward Anwyl (2), W. M. Ramsay (2), Andrew Lang, Bernard P. Grenfell, Kuno Meyer (2), F. C. Conybeare, R. R. Marett, T. H. Thomas, Arthur Bernard Cook, Henry Browne, Almeric W. FitzRoy, W. Rhys Roberts, J. H. Davies, Rowland Ellis, T. F. Tout, T. Witton Davies, F. Haverfield (3), Edward Clodd, J. Myfenydd Morgan (2), E. Vincent Evans, Anatole le Braz, H. Osthoff, G. L. Barstow (2), Ingram Bywater, George Eyre Evans, R. Gwyneddon Davies, and Hubert von Herkomer.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to abide by the conditions set out in information provided when applying for their Readers' Tickets, whereby the reader shall become responsible for compliance with the Data Protection Act 1998 in relation to any processing by them of personal data obtained from modern records held at the Library.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

English, Welsh, French, German.

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Preferred citation: A1/1/38.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places

Physical storage

  • Text: A1/1/38 (19-20).