File NLW MS 23758C. - Modern Poetry lectures

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 23758C.


Modern Poetry lectures


  • 1966 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

i, 59 ff. (blank from f. 34 verso; text mostly on rectos) ; 255 x 205 mm.

Paper covers.

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Notebook containing autograph drafts, September 1966, of a series of eight lectures entitled 'Modern Poetry Lectures', apparently given by Vernon Watkins at the University College of Swansea.
The lecture notes contain references to various poets, in particular T. S. Eliot (ff. 2-16 passim), W. B. Yeats (ff. 3-31 passim), D. H. Lawrence (ff. 17-24), Wilfred Owen (ff. 24, 26-31) and David Jones (ff. 24-28). Excerpts from the notes were published in Poetry Wales, 12.4 (Spring 1977), 52-55.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Staples removed and bindings re-stitched at NLW.

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies


Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Original title.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 23758C.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area