File NLW MS 12561D. - Letters to Abraham Howell,

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 12561D.


Letters to Abraham Howell,


  • 1836-1845 / (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Seventy-one holograph letters addressed to Abraham Howell at Welshpool and Rhyl (1), by his brother Evan Howell from London, 1836-1845 and undated (personal and family matters including the writer's own career in business in London, the sending of [their sister] Ellen to school at Minsterley [co. Salop], the finding of employment for younger brothers, news in 1836 of their brother Lewis who was in America, the mental illness and the delusions suffered by [their brother] Edward in London in 1841, the birth of recipient's first child in 1841, and the physical and subsequent mental illness of [their brother] Samuel in 1843, the purchasing of books and other articles for recipient in London and arrangements for having books bound for him, the sending of newspapers from London to recipient and others including [their cousin] S[amuel] Roberts, with comments on some papers such as the Observer, Sunday Times, Bells [New Weekly Messenger], the Examiner and the Spectator (1836), the imprisonment of Jack Jones of Llanbrynmair in Newgate for theft, visits to London by the writer's cousin John Roberts in 1836 and 1841, and a sermon preached by him on the first occasion, lectures by a clergyman called Denham [? the Reverend Joshua Frederick Denham, rector of St. Mary's le Strand, London, 1839-1861] at St. Bride's, Fleet Street, in 1838, comments on the Tories in 1838 and on Sir John Conroy's friendliness with ministers and all around the court, enquiries at the Herald's Office in 1838 with regard to a grant of arms [? on behalf of recipient], the choice made by the Montgomery boroughs in the [parliamentary election of June 1841], provisions made in the will of [Charles] Maddison, father of the Rev[eren]d John George Maddison [rector of West Monkton, co. Somerset, 1825-1847], and mention of the Coalport Porcelain works in connection therewith, news of acquaintances) (the writer occasionally writes a few sentences of a letter in shorthand).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title based on contents.


Formerly known as A. Stanley Davies 4.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 12561D.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area