File NLW MS 12424C. - Letters from John Lloyd of Wigfair,

Identity area

Reference code

NLW MS 12424C.


Letters from John Lloyd of Wigfair,


  • 1783-1815 / (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

Context area

Name of creator

Biographical history

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Forty-eight holograph letters, 1783-1815 and undated, from John Lloyd at Wygfair, in London, etc., to his sisters, of whom there were four (see J. E. Griffith, Pedigrees, p. 215), viz. Susanna and Phoebe, both of whom died unmarried, Dorothea, who married the Rev. Thomas Clough, and Mary [or Elizabeth], who married the Rev. J. C. Potter (later J. C. Conway). Some of the present letters are addressed to Miss Phoebe Lloyd or Miss S[usanna] Lloyd individually, some to the Misses Lloyd (beginning 'My dear sisters'), some to Miss Lloyd (but beginning 'My dear sisters') and some to Miss Lloyd (beginning 'My dear sister') but not specifying which. Most are addressed to Mold. They contain a considerable amount of personal news, news of friends and acquaintances, and accounts of social and other activities in London and at Wigfair, and refer more specifically to the illness of the writer's mother [Mrs. Dorothea Lloyd], the activities of London personalities (1783), the death and burial of the writer's mother [between whom and the writer there appears to have been an estrangement] (1801), a fever at Mold (1801), a hurricane which had blown down a large number of trees at Garthewin, Wigfair, etc., unroofed Henllan church and damaged [the churches] at Denbigh, Whitchurch and Bodfarry (1802), the illness of Miss Phoebe Lloyd (1802), detailed advice as to fumigation to counteract fever in the Mold area (1802), a visit in company with Sir Joseph Banks to Mr. [Thomas William] Coke [later viscount Coke and earl of Leicester of Holkham] at his 'noble Palace, Holkham in Norfolk', with remarks on the grandeur of the place and the munificence of the entertaining (1803), intelligence that the Brest fleet was putting to sea and that Lord Gardener [Alan Gardner, baron Gardner of Uttoxeter (Ireland), later baron Gardner of Uttoxeter, co. Stafford, who commanded the channel fleet at the time] was preparing to meet it (May 1805), the death of [? Alexander Aubert] at Wygfair (1805), a lecture by [ ] Crouch at the Royal Institution [in London] on early church music, and a performance of the Forty Thieves about which 'The Town is mad' (1806), the writer's relationship to the Wynnes of Coedcoch, bequests in the will of Mrs. Williams of Deganwyn, a claim by Robert Jones that he had discovered ore at ? Waenlas (1809), 'violent doings at the Election' and the creation of twenty seven burgesses by 'the Popish Party with noisy Griffith of Garn' at Denbigh (1812), the writer's 'grand day in the Temple Hall' as reader and presiding at the head of the Benchers' table (1813), and the illness of his sister (1814) [? Dorothea, who died in that year].

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes


Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

The description is also available in the Handlist of Manuscripts in the National Library of Wales, Volume IV (Aberystwyth, 1971).

Generated finding aid

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title based on contents.


Formerly known as Wigfair 24.


Preferred citation: NLW MS 12424C.

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area