Labour Party (Great Britain). Brecon and Radnor Division.

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Labour Party (Great Britain). Brecon and Radnor Division.

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


From 1924-1985 the constituency of Brecon and Radnor was represented in Parliament by the four Labour MPs Peter Freeman (1929-1931), William Frederick Jackson (1939-1945), Lord Tudor Watkins (1945-1970) and Caerwyn Roderick (1970-1979). The local Labour Party was active in undertaking 'Rural Campaigns', which drew a large number of Members of Parliament into the constituency. Tudor Watkins was the Labour Party's agent in Brecon and in Radnor before being elected its MP in 1945, and serving until 1970. In 1972 he was elevated to the peerage as Lord Watkins and also served as Lord Lieutenant of Powys until 1978.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC