Showing 5 results

Archival description
Evans, T. Hopkin (Thomas Hopkin), 1879-1940
Print preview View:

Contributions to Y Cerddor

Contributions, consisting of folk songs and sacred music, from various individuals to J. Lloyd Williams for publication in Y Cerddor. They include songs and arrangements by David de Lloyd and T. Hopkin Evans. Related letters are also sometimes included.

De Lloyd, David, 1883-1948

Letters E-I

The correspondents include D. Emlyn Evans (4), Prof. David Evans (3), Robert Evans (Cybi) (4), T. Hopkin Evans (19), D. Lloyd George (1), A. G. Gilchrist (2), A. P. Graves (8), R. D. Griffith (11), Ll. Wyn Griffith (1), E. J. Grutchfield (5), Hughes & Son (4), John Hughes, Treorchy (7), and Wil Ifan (1).

Letters from readers and contributors

Letters, 1926-1939, some including songs, addressed to J. Lloyd Williams mainly from contributors and readers of Y Cerddor. The correspondents include T. Hopkin Evans, E. J. Grutchfield and William Evans ('Wil Ifan'). A notebook listing names and addresses of 'Cerddor Contributors' is also enclosed.

Publication of Y Cerddor

Correspondence, 1915-1945, relating to the work of the National Council of Music, Cymdeithas Caredigion Cerdd (founded 1930) and, in particular, to the publication of Y Cerddor. The correspondence mainly reflects J. Lloyd Williams's contribution as editor of the Journal and his involvement with the National Council of Music. The correspondents include E. T. Davies, Sir Walford Davies, T. Hopkin Evans, John Griffith (co-editor with J. Lloyd Williams of Y Cerddor, 1930-1933), E. J. Grutchfield, Hughes & Son, J. Chas. MacLean, Jennie Williams and John Jones ('Ioan Brothen'). Copies of letters from J. Lloyd Williams are also included.