Fonds GB 0210 CONLES - Conservative Party (North Wales) Papers,

Identity area

Reference code



Conservative Party (North Wales) Papers,


  • 1953-1992 / (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

0.171 cubic metres (17 boxes, 5 posters)

Context area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Conservative Party comprised individual branches (constituency associations) under Area Councils forming part of the National Union of Conservative and Unionist Associations, until 1997, when a new structure, based on smaller Areas, was introduced. The Area Council for Wales and Monmouthshire was replaced by five new Areas, including North Wales. D. Elwyn Jones was an agent of the Party between 1971-1979 and became the organizer of the Party in North Wales, through the North Wales European Constituency Conservative Council. The North Wales MEP from 1979-1989 was Ms Beata Brookes for the Conservative Party. The North Wales area covered a number of groups, including Caernarvon Division Conservative and Unionist Association and Conway and Denbigh Constituency Conservative and Unionist Associations.

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Deposited by the Conservative Party per Mr D. Elwyn Jones, Deganwy, Conwy, 1985-1997.

Content and structure area

Scope and content

Minute books, correspondence and papers, 1953-1992, relating to the Conservative Party in North Wales, including general political papers and circulars, 1971-1989; papers of the North Wales European Election, 1989; news sheets produced by the Brecon and Radnor Conservative Association, 1963-1972; papers relating to the training of constituency agents, 1970-1978; minutes and correspondence of the executive council of the Caernarvon Division of the Conservative and Unionist Association, 1953-1992; papers concerning the Pwllheli Conservative Club, the Association's Annual General Meetings, briefings and reports, 1982-1992; papers including minutes of the executive council and other committees; correspondence, circulars, memoranda, balance sheets of the Conway Constituency Conservative and Unionist Association, 1967-1982; minutes of the Llandudno Junction branch, 1951-1986; records of the Denbigh Constituency Conservative Association, 1974-1982; papers of the National Society of Conservative and Unionist Agents, both the National and Wales and Monmouthshire branches, 1970-1980; and minutes of the North Wales European Constituency Conservative Council, 1978-1989.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Action: All records deposited at the National Library of Wales have been retained..


Accruals are possible.

System of arrangement

Arranged into the following groups: Caernarvon Division; Conway Constituency; Referendum 1979; Denbigh Constituency; General political papers; and North Wales European Election 1989.

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access

Records less than 20 years old may not be consulted without the written permission of the donor. Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Conditions governing reproduction

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes


Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Minor Lists and Summaries 1986, p. 176; 1992, p. 190; 1993, p. 63; 1994, p. 102; 1995, p. 60; 1996, p.58, and 1997, p. 15 at the National Library of Wales.

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area


Title supplied from contents of fonds

Alternative identifier(s)

Virtua system control number


Project identifier


Access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru = The National Library of Wales

Rules and/or conventions used

Description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) 2nd ed.;AACR2; and LCSH


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

April 2003; revised May 2005


  • English



Archivist's note

Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: NLW, Minor Lists and Summaries 1986/1992-1996; Conservative Party archive website (, viewed 4 November 2003; Jones, Beti, Etholiadau'r Ganrif Welsh Elections, 1850-1997 (Talybont, 1999).

Accession area