Callaghan, James, 1912-2005

Identity area

Type of entity


Authorized form of name

Callaghan, James, 1912-2005

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The new National Assembly for Wales building design competition was first announced in the Official Journal of the European Communities (OJEC) on 13 June 1998 to be organised by the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA). The deadline given was 10 July 1998 and fifty five architects responded. Lord Callaghan's fellow judges were lay members Elinor Bennett, Angela Gidden, Mike Reilly and Professor Robin Williams, together with two practising architects Robin Nicholson and Ian Ritchie. On 3 and 4 August eleven people were interviewed. Lord Callaghan announced a short list of six architects on 7 August. The six shortlisted practices gave a presentation of their work at the Park Thistle Hotel, Cardiff, on 15 October. The winner was announced by Lord Callaghan as The Richard Rogers Partnership. This Partnership was also responsible for designing the Millennium Dome at Greenwich.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC